Review: Persuasion

PersuasionPersuasion by Jane Austen
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

It took me years to start reading this book. I remember that I first watched the BBC’s 2007 movie adaptation and fell head over heals in love with it. To the point that it became my number one instead of Pride and Prejudice. Since then I planned to read the book. And as I’m currently having a bit of a readers’ block but nothing better to do to recover from that but to read one of your most favorite books.

I’m not disappointed but rather more excited about the book now as I was about the movie. I found the arguments very gripping (as all Jane Austen’s dialogues). Eventhough, this novel is narrated in the first person, and that I felt we could know more about the others, but knowing Austen’s style it’s beautiful on its own.

Speaking of the main relationship in this novel, between Captain Fredrick Wentworth & Anne Elliot, there could not be a better 19th couple as this one. I could picture their scenes so perfectly in my mind and end up daydreaming about them all day. Nearing the end, I felt angry because of how constantly they were interrupted. I really felt for both of them.

Towards the end, two scenes that left happy. One, when Captain Wentworth made his way into the concert and was acknowledged, for the first time, from Sir Walter, Anne’s father. That was the moment I felt a victory on his behalf. Second, was when Captain Wentworth handed his letter of passion to Anne after he heard her conversation with Captain Harville. At which, his confession had a deep effect on me, I don’t know how Anne recovered from its effects.

“I offer myself to you again with a heart more your own than when you almost broke it, eight years and a half ago” I still have a huge love for this quote, and I think it’s the most romantic one I’ve read yet.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

