Review: Uglies

Uglies (Uglies, #1)Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Uglies, a novel I heard about a lot and as most overrated things, I believed it’s not worth all this talk. That’s the problem with judging books by their cover (or by hearsay in my case). However, I am always happy to be proven wrong and blown away with those I judge as bad or unworthy.

When I started reading this book, I was reminded of The Hunger Games. Like Katnis, Tally is a strong, rebellious and independent girl who is forced to make choices and forced to do things to redeem herself. Not gonna talk more about the plot, as you can read a synopsis online.

I really liked this book, liked its characters. I was able to be inside their heads and know what they’re thinking but they manage to surprise me sometimes. Scott Westerfeld managed to draw this huge virtual world where we moved with the characters through completely different cities while all of that contributed to the plot of the story. As to the story, I find it exciting, thrilling and very gripping. I didn’t want to let this book out of my hands, I even sleep with it still in my lap.

I admire the writer who can make his characters seem alive to the readers and can connect with them with such ease as if the reader is an eyewitness to the events. This factor is crucial when it comes to my books or tv shows. Absolute joy!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

