Review: Just the Sexiest Man Alive

Just the Sexiest Man AliveJust the Sexiest Man Alive by Julie James
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Reading the summary of this book, I was like "yeah, a girl falling for a celebrity, cliché". But as the sucker I am for such stories, I decided "WTH, I’m gonna try this since the other book I’m reading is just unbearable". And that is what I did.

This story is about Taylor Donovan, a hard-working and career-driven lawyer from Chicago, and who moved to LA to pursue her career. She managed to do well with that, until, under unfortunate circumstances, she meets The heartthrob of all women Jason Andrews, and the mutual dislike between the two issues. Surely, that won’t last long in Romantic books.

Contrary to what I thought, the book was amazing. As for the writing, it was witty, funny, enchanting and so intelligent. It’s the first romance book in which the two main characters are supposed to be head-to-head with each other who are actually doing that. Mostly, I don’t find these kinds of characters right for each other. I laughed out loud at some lines in the beginning when the two were sparring. And as much as I find the story to be a cliché, but the writers managed not to make it the boring kind of cliché.

I did get confused by two tiny things, which doesn’t exactly effect my liking of the book. First, her relationship with The Other Scott Casey. And second, That Scott Casey character, I find him to be one-dimensional person, which I disliked of course.

And on a final note, this book reminded me of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice at times.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

