Review: Extras

Extras (Uglies, #4)Extras by Scott Westerfeld
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Finishing the 3 books of the series with huge satisfaction, one could easily imagine the fourth to be no less than that. However, I was really disappointed, or at least for the first 200 pages of the book.

For a start, the change of the heroine was surprising. As I came to adore Tally, and now reading about a Japanese Aya put me down from the whole book the rest of the week. I mean, unlike Tally, I spent the majority of this book wondering what exactly she is doing? It started with her "adventure", which I thought was a promise for another action-hero, but later, and for most of the story, she is just a side-kick. I just wished we were told this story from Tally’s POV, it’d be more of a thrilling experience.

I was tempted to give this a 1-star rating but when the story moved towards the end, and with the introduction of the Extras lead by an old friend, which I think took too long to reveal, it started to be a pretty good story. Again, I just wished we saw it from Tally eyes to live her thrilling life.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

