Review: The Awakening

The Awakening (The Vampire Diaries, #1)The Awakening by L.J. Smith
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I made a decision to make July the month dedicated to read the whole series of The Vampire Diaries (as I’ve grown to love the tv show). And then when I read the book’s 2/3-stars reviews here on GR, I prepared myself for a disaster.

Just like the tv show, I’m still intrigued by the story. Yes, it’s sometimes a very OTT incidents, most notable in Elena saying ‘I love you’ to Stephen after one meeting (not even a date). And unlike the show, Elena’s character seems to be more self-righteous and equally self-involved.

Overall, I think the book was okay pass time. For a paranormal-romance novel, it’s not that bad because I’ve read worse. It also because I chose to get invested in the tv show that I’ll keep reading the series.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

