Review: One Summer

One SummerOne Summer by David Baldacci
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Nothing beats the feeling of reading the right book at the right times. It’s a feeling this book made me live. One Summer is certainly one of those books that make difference.

In short, the story of One Summer revolves around Jack Armstrong. He is an ex-military who served in Afghanistan and ME and received many medals during his service. He’s also a loving husband of Lizzie O’Toole and the father of three kids. Jack is diagnosed with a terminal illness that absolutely no one recovered from, so the expectations of his recovery are non-existent. Soon, everyone starts to accept that. However, their lives take a dramatic turn when Lizzie died in a car accident. And soon afterward, Jack miraculously is healed. One Summer is how long it takes for the family to get over their tragic past and appreciate life as it is.

Since I started the first page, I can say I was glued to it. I think it has something to do with the style of writing that made the story float so smoothly and very lightly. But after few chapters I’ve come to related to every character. They were real and vivid in my imagination. And not even once I had the desire to put the book down. Emotionally, I couldn’t have read this book in a better time than this. It was somehow therapeutic and kind of reassuring in its own way. I stopped at some lines and reflected some of what I read on my own life and got new insights.

One Summer is a story to celebrate new beginnings and new chances. Frankly, who wouldn’t like to celebrate both.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

