Review: Nineteen Minutes

Nineteen Minutes
Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The first book I read for Jodi Picoult was Plain Truth. Granted, she became my favorite author.

Nineteen Minutes, follows the story of Peter Houghton. Who, after a life-long of bullying, walks to his school and starts shooting at the students. He ends up killing ten of them among others who are injured both physically and emotionally. Surely there’s more to this story than what I summerized and one, once you start to unravel, will take your breath away.

Bullying is a heart-breaking issue. And one I can sympathize with even though it isn’t a common issue in my community. However, this kind of behavior needs to put a stop to. One of the points Jodi Picoult makes is that there isn’t even a guide for teachers to follow once they face that situation, which is even more heart-breaking.

When it comes to the characters, I felt less impressed by Lacy Houghton, Peter’s mom. I don’t know why, but I had this impression of her as the sensible mom who is more dedicated to her kids (i got that idea from the first chapter). Maybe that’s because she’s the less explorered of all the characters.

After all, Jodi Picoult strikes again. This is definitely one of my favorite books this year. Also, my hands are kinda itching to go and pick all of her other books.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

