Review: Firelight

Firelight
Firelight by Sophie Jordan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’m glad I decided to read this book. It was a refreshing change from all the vampires, werewolves and witches. The story was really interesting. I also loved the style of writing, it was not too detailed and not too short either but I could do without some repetitions. I also liked the main 3 characters: Jacinda, Will and Cassian.

What I didn’t like was the usual over the top romance. I mean there’s always the constant reminder of how stronger she feels when Will is around or how his kisses are the thing that made her didn’t want to leave him. That made it too Twilight-ish for my taste & made me skip most of those moments.

When it comes to Jacinda, I wish she was written with more strength. And I wish we knew more of her history back in the Pride. Now that I think about it, we’ve only been given some of what the Pride is actually is. I’d like to see that more explored in the next book. As for Will, I understand that Jordan wanted to end things with a cliffhanger but I wasn’t impressed by how Will’s secret was delayed (though I know most of you guessed it right away).

Final Verdict: As much as refreshing this story is, yet it has some flaws. However, the story left me wanting to know more, so I’ll def. check out the next book ASAP.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

