Review: Paranormalcy Trilogy

 

July 24th , marked the end of one of the really interesting and great PNR YA series. That is Paranormalcy by Kiersten White. I am saddened by this end and closing the chapter of Evylen’s adventure in the world of faeries. It was a really great journey.

(-Spoiler free mini reviews-)

◘ 1. Paranormalcy:

my rating: ♥♥♥♥

I remember that I picked this book so randomly and without ever seeing it anywhere. But with that gorgeous cover, who would not pick the book up. I hoped it would be a fun read; mainly because the blurb was really intriguing & well… I happen to like faeries.

The book is an introduction to Evylen’s world inside the International Paranormal Containment Agency (IPCA). She fights those paranormal creatures who are out of line. Prepared with her Tasey (yes she calls her taser that) and courage, she fights to restore order and protect those she love. (don’t I sound like a good promotion agent? xD)

It’s a really interesting story & very well written. It will keep you intrigued and guessing. I liked how Evie’s acts like any teenage girl out there, with her obsession with pink and her Tasey. Normally, I wouldn’t like that but it’s not annoyingly overdone like many others. However, the issues I find with this book is that it wasn’t intense enough at first. It has a slow pace for a YA book. You don’t get into it easily at first too. And it also doesn’t give more answers about Evie or others.

◘ 2. Supernaturally:

my rating: ♥♥♥♥

Once I finished Paranormalcy I had to get my hands of Supernaturally. The second installment of this series deals with more revelations in Evie’s life. It also introduces some really interesting characters. Jack and Vivian added to the fun parts of the book, while one was good the other was the bad kind of fun. I thought this one will get worse but actually you never know with series, fortunately, it turned really well. Again my issues with this remains the same with Paranormalcy except this one’s pace was slightly better.

◘ 3. Endlessly:

my rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

The third and last book of the trilogy brings to us a war between the Dark and Light fae. How could Evie assist with this ginormous war.  I knew I’ve liked this series, but the moment I held this book, I knew I’d love it. As I was saying, all these questions left unanswered will be addressed. Everything builds up to this book, its plot and how the characters are developing. Kiersten White let it all out with Endlessly in a way that took my breath away. It was intense and a real page-turner. Also, how the characters interacted were the most satisfying about it. Each one was likable and in some way relatable. I could never ask for a better ending.

At the end, I would recommend this book to those who love Hex Hall because of the very similar heroines and type of entertainment you get from them. I really liked this series, more so now that it’s ended xD.

Leave a Reply

