Mini Reviews [01]: Pledged & Sweet Evil

I’ve been lazy these past week to write reviews for books I’ve finished lately. But with mess-up sleeping time, prayers and reading Qura’an, there wasn’t enough time. Besides, I didn’t have much to say about them to I decided to start the mini-review post for when I’m to busy to write detailed reviews.

..<>,,
  #1: Pledged by Gwyneth White

Book 1 of [ Soul Wars Saga ]

Goodreads Synopsis:

Everyone has a soul mate. But what do you do when your soul mate would rather give his soul to the demons than be with you?

Seventeen-year-old Erin has a problem. Seth has been hers forever, but now an ancient curse is tearing him away. And the demons who invoked it will stop at nothing – even murder – to claim him as their own.

How can she win against a curse so binding that it has damned countless others to this same fate – an eternity alone?

The answer lies in the past. To find it, Erin and Seth must risk all, travelling back in time to a dangerous world where love is forbidden, and life – and death – hang on a pledge.

Follow Erin and Seth as they travel to ancient Shenaya and confront the curse that has plagued their families for millennia. Caught in a war between the Angelic Guardians and the Gefallen, the disembodied dead, they must fight to keep their souls in tact and their love untainted.

my rating: ♥

Don’t plan on talking about the story .. ‘coz honest to God, I don’t know what I just read…

The only thing to say about this is that I had great trouble connecting with it. I felt like it was too vague for me to get into. The writing didn’t help. I really wanted to like it as the synopsis was really intriguing, maybe I just read it in a wrong time but I didn’t feel it at all..

I just hope I get to re-read it someday to give it the proper review…

#2 Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

Book 1 of [ The Sweet Trilogy ]

Goodreads Synopsis:

Embrace the Forbidden

What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences?

This is the reality for sons and daughters of fallen angels.

Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but Anna, the ultimate good girl, has always had the advantage of her angel side to balance the darkness within. It isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

Forced to face her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?

my rating: ♥♥♥.5

I didn’t know what to expect from this but glad I had zero expectations because it’s better than I thought.

Even when it follows the insta-love route, the story still is intriguing. Also, I was invested in Anna’s character more than I thought I would. She is someone I want to get to know better. I hadn’t been particularly a fan of forbidden romance with Kai at first, he acted like a jerk to Anna (which reminds me of William Of the infernal devices series). But through the last few chapters, he certainly grew on me. I really don’t know where the story is going after that end, but I hope it’ll be a better one.

I didn’t really care for the myth, I was just invested in the characters enough to enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

