Review: Send by Patty Blount

  Send by Patty Blount

Genre: Young Adult, Realistic Fiction

Themes: Bullying, Suicide …

Get it from: Amazon, B&N, ebooks.com

GoodReads Synopsis

To keep his secrets, all he has to do is listen to the voice in his head and just walk away…
On his first day at his new high school, Dan stops a bully from beating up a kid half his size. He didn’t want to get involved. All he wants out of his senior year is to fly under the radar. But Dan knows what it’s like to be terrorized by a bully-he used to be one. Now the whole school thinks he’s some kind of hero, except Julie Murphy, the prettiest girl on campus. She looks at him like she knows he has a secret. Like she knows his name isn’t really Daniel.

Pretty interesting, huh?

my rating: ♥♥♥.5

I can’t talk about this without mentioning a sentence that was the reason I had to finish this book…

You think saving this one is gonna make up for the one you killed?”

Yes! It’s a story of redemption (& I love those).

At 13, Kenneth made a choice a lot of kids his age choose for the sole reason of fun. Now fun can be dangerous and Kenneth Mele’s life changed because of that. A simple act of pressing a button can have the horrible impact on someone else’s life. And 5 years later, and after moving to a lot of cities, they decide to settle with a new identity. In this city, Kenneth, now as Daniel, meets Julie Murphy but it’s an insta-hate relationship. But then, after having classes together, they started getting friendly (maybe so friendly) and we see how they overcome that hate.

Let me first talk about bullying. I’ve read about it so many times that it feels like opening my own scars again & again. I never did find that book that carries my own vision of how this should be faced. Fortunately, Send with this Kenneth did that. That leads me to talk about Kenneth/Daniel.

Unlike Perfect Chemistry’s Alex, I felt the weight of Kenneth’s suffering. He’s someone was looking for redemption and overcoming that emotional wall he’s built around himself. I find myself appreciating this guy the minute I finished Chapter 1. No kidding! Even when he knows that facing those bulliers were bad for him and his cover, he decides to do something & not just stand there and watch. He had that strength when facing them that I felt through the pages. He’s buried himself (that shows in his other self Kenneth) so deep because of that mistake, that he doesn’t recognize how actually good he is (Speaking of the other self, it was a bit annoying at first, ‘coz I don’t know what he’s supposed to be but I got it :D). Just how he was determined to help Brandon was enough to make me admire that guy’s persistence.

As for Julie, the other significant part of this story, I didn’t really warm up to her until the second half of the book. She was another lost soul after her brother’s suicide. She carries enough baggage to match Dan’s. But anyways, I couldn’t relate to her completely and I still don’t feel her connection with Dan. Maybe she could have been written better, idk.

Kenneth’s parents were the complete opposite of Julie’s. He has such a great and caring family, that I felt jealous of him. Even his pop was awesome. They had this open line of communication with him about everything but he just whines *gimme ur parents, kid*. They were amazing.

At the end, for me this book wasn’t about the romance as it’s about this sensitive issue kids find themselves in these days. I totally appreciate Patty Blount’s style of writing & very unique take on this. I don’t think I’ll forget Kenneth Mele.

Leave a Reply

