Review: The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

Book 1 of { Blood of Eden } Series

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopia, Paranormal

get it from: Amazon || B&N

Goodreads Synopsis

“In a future world, vampires reign. Humans are blood cattle. And one girl will search for the key to save humanity.”Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a vampire city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten.

Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of “them.” The vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself is attacked–and given the ultimate choice. Die…or become one of the monsters.

Faced with her own mortality, Allie becomes what she despises most. To survive, she must learn the rules of being immortal, including the most important: go long enough without human blood, and you will go mad.

Then Allie is forced to flee into the unknown, outside her city walls. There she joins a ragged band of humans who are seeking a legend–a possible cure to the disease that killed off most of humankind and created the rabids, the mindless creatures who threaten humans and vampires alike.

But it isn’t easy to pass for human. Especially not around Zeke, who might see past the monster inside her. And Allie soon must decide what–and who–is worth dying for.

my rating: ♥♥♥.3

Personally, Dystopia and vampire books are what intrigue me the most in a paranormal fiction book. Not to say that I’m the Twilight-type-of-fan but I like a well-written book about either of them. That along with the raving reviews from other readers, made me more intrigued by it so I had to get it.

17 years old Allison Sekemoto along with some friends, are living in New Covington. A place now ruled completely by vampires and their loyal humans (the registered). The Unregistered humans, like Allie and her friends, have to suffer to find food and shelter. They’re also prohibited from simple human skills like reading. New Covington is protected by a wall from the attacks of rabids (who I believe resemble zombie animals). One of the group’s journey to bring back food from the ruins beyond the protection of the wall, they were attacked by those rabids and Allie, after being fatally injured, is saved by a vampire who offers her either death or the immortal life.

After deciding to join the immortals, Kanin takes her under his wing and teach her some Vampire Lifestyle 101. Only later, they were attacked and Allie is on the run. She then joins a group of humans on the road to a city of Eden where no vampire or rabid can get in. Is this place for real? or is it just a desperate attempt from desperate humans?

The Story

First,  I wanna say I LOVE THIS WORLD Julie created. It was dark, terrifying, cruel and very scary. The vampires ruling the country was just so good of a new take on the dystopian genre. I really loved it.

The book is divided in 4 parts, human, vampire, monster, wanderer takes place in a new sort of plot. Each part ended with a really intriguing cliffhanger that will definitely pull you to read more. For those of you (like me) who know enough about Vampire 101 I mentioned earlier wouldn’t find the first two parts that good. However, I see it more as an introduction of a character totally my favorite in the book. that will puzzle you.

The other two parts are where the intensity begins. After learning her vampire abcs, she has to deal with her new persisting needs all on her own. Of course, we know what happens when love gets in the way, yep! it complicates things.

The Characters

okay, I’m gonna be honest here and say that I wasn’t really a fan of Allie with her “nobody is worth saving” attitude; A Particular scene in Part 1 where I couldn’t understand her character. For some character to have that extreme emotions towards both vampires and humans, you’d think it’s something huge in her back-story. Even with that revealed, I didn’t really think it deserved that kind of stand from her. Anyways, she becomes more tolerable by the end of this book. And let me mention that she becomes so kick-butt that she’d have a conversation AND slash rabids. That’s gotta count for something right? 😀

Zeke *hmmm* now, I admit he’s so attentive, good and good with his weapons, I don’t doubt he’s the picture of perfect-boyfriend for some girls. Yet, he’s just that. He didn’t do enough to make an impression more than the love-interest. The only time I’ve seen part of his live was in Part 4 and it was only a tiny, might I add painful, glimpse of him. I hope there’s more elaboration on that scene by the next book, or at least an extra of it.

Kanin, on the other hand, he’s just the typical mysterious vampire who, looking deeply into his lines, makes you realize that he’s been through A LOT. But sadly, one of the disappointments of this book was that I expected more Kanin by the end. *sigh* this book is anything but predictable. I can’t wait for more of him when the The Eternity Cure comes out.

This a really good story for Dystopian/Vampire fans out there. It was very well-written and well-thought. I wish I’d given it 5 stars but it wasn’t WOW! for me, if you know what I mean. And suffice it to say, the mention of Julie Kagawa with any book is definitely worth reading.

7 thoughts on “Review: The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

      1. I didn’t expect much, actually I think I didn’t expect at all. LOL! I still prefer dystopian and fantasy books because there’s too much blood with vampires. hahaha!

  1. I actually didn’t care for the Iron Fey series (I’m not one for fairy stories, so I found), but I did enjoy Kagawa’s writing style so I really wanted to give this one a shot!

  2. jonababez :

    I didn’t expect much, actually I think I didn’t expect at all. LOL! I still prefer dystopian and fantasy books because there’s too much blood with vampires. hahaha!

    good thing not to expect so much 😀 & LOL @ the blood thing.. I guess it’s a lost cause to get u to change ur mind about it… 😛

Leave a Reply

