Mini Reviews [02]: Pushing The Limits & Fearless

Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

Genre: young Adult, Contemporary Romance, Realistic Fiction

Get it from: Amazon || B&N || ebooks.com

Goodreads Synopsis

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with “freaky” scars on her arms. Even Echo can’t remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo’s world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.

Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she’ll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

my rating: ♥♥♥.5

I know I am in the minority who did not completely fall in love with Pushing the Limits. that’s what happens with me usually. That’s not to say that I completely not like it. I did like most of it …

Liked:

  • Echo’s story (and name tbh) .. Her story touched me more than Noah’s. She went through a trauma on the hands of the one who’s supposed to love her the most. Adding to that, she’s got to go through it all over again while she tried to figure what happened.. it’s really heartbreaking 😦
  • Some scenes between Noah and Echo were really touching. (like the dance & the end <3) The beginning was good, I couldn’t put it down at first.
  • Beth .. yep! I liked Beth’s character & that makes me so giddy for Dare You To, which is coming sometime in 2013 *ugh!*

eeh! not so much

  • Noah’s story.. I didn’t connect with him as much as I tried. I understood Isiah but not him. He’s someone who was titled as a bad guy at first I thought he’s into gangs or something like that but he’s just had that attitude I couldn’t get past and people obviously didn’t get along with (thus the bad guy title). His character felt overly used this year. I can see the similarities between him and Alex in Perfect Chemistry, but while one was a real gangster.
  • The middle of the book I felt was slow for me to go through. I put it down so many times when I felt bored with it.
  • I’ve read some reviews that complained about the forced use of nicknames .. I agree! Siren and baby were so repeated, even unnecessarily so, to the point I didn’t feel it was adorable esp. the siren nickname x(

I do get the appeal to love this book. I just thought it could have been better. But it’s definitely not the type of book to hook me.

Fearless by Brigid Kemmerer

Genre: Young Adult, Supernatural, Fantasy

get the ebook from: Amazon || B&N || ebooks.com || KoboBooks

Goodreads Synopsis

Being a force of nature doesn’t keep you safe.

Hunter Garrity is used to watching his back. The kids at school sense something different about him. And they’re right.

Hunter has powers that have nothing to do with how hard he can throw a punch.

Maybe that’s what Clare Kasten is picking up. She’s shy, quiet, and intense, but she’s sought him out. There’s no telling what she wants from him.

But Hunter knows enough to sense a secret when it’s close. And getting close to Clare is a danger he’s ready to face…

my rating: ♥♥♥♥

*swoons* anyone who read my review for Storm, knows how much I’ve come to LOVE Hunter. And the open-ended line he spoke to Becca made me want more of him. Now, I’m SO HAPPY Brigid Kemmerer decided to write about him in Fearless and Spirit.

This ebook is a prequel to Storm, in which we meet Hunter Garrity before he moves to Annapolis. It’s a little glimpse of the life he has in his town with his family. We’ve come to know that he’s hassled repeatedly by other boys in his school that he had to find a new longer route to his home every day. Not that he was incapable of fighting back, but he simply did not want to. On one of those days, Hunter suspects he’s being followed and hides to finally take some kind of stand against the boys. Turns out, he’s been followed by a girl. Clare Kasten comes to Hunter with questions that she needed answering. Hunter’s dad and uncle are skeptical of her intentions and they warn him but he’s more stubborn to believe until Clare proves she had ulterior motives.

I find this little story so informative about Hunter’s life before Storm. He’s that teenage boy who simply wanted so much to impress his dad and uncle. He’s naive and good-hearted too. The experience he went through by the end of this short story molded him into what we’ve read of him in Storm, which is SO amazing. I really love Brigid Kemmerer’s style of writing. She writes banter and serious SO well that makes her story so gripping. I CAN’T WAIT FOR SPIRIT TO COME OUT..

There in the book is a preview of Spark, which is Gabriel Merrick’s story. I loved that sneak peak & I’ll get that too as soon as it comes out.

2 thoughts on “Mini Reviews [02]: Pushing The Limits & Fearless

  1. I’m so glad to see someone else who feels the same way! I actually really liked Noah’s story with his brothers and I liked Echo’s as well. her name didn’t bother me like I thought it would but I grew so tired of “siren”, “nymph”, and “baby”. I just hate it when people call each other baby! I gave it 4 stars because I liked the story lines, but definitely not in love with it!

Leave a Reply

