Blog Tour: Stitch by Samantha Durante (Review)

  Stitch by Samantha Durante

Book #1 of { Stitch } Trilogy

Genre: Young/New Adult, Sci-Fi: Dystopia/Post-Apocalyptic, Paranormal Romance.

Here’s a sneak peak at the first 5 chapters

get it from: Amazon || B&N || Smashwords || also available on iTunes Store for $2.99

Synopsis

Her heart races, her muscles coil, and every impulse in Alessa’s body screams at her to run… but yet she’s powerless to move.

Still struggling to find her footing after the sudden death of her parents, the last thing college freshman Alessa has the strength to deal with is the inexplicable visceral pull drawing her to a handsome ghostly presence. In between grappling with exams and sorority soirees – and disturbing recurring dreams of being captive in a futuristic prison hell – Alessa is determined to unravel the mystery of the apparition who leaves her breathless. But the terrifying secret she uncovers will find her groping desperately through her nightmares for answers.

Because what Alessa hasn’t figured out yet is that she’s not really a student, the object of her obsession is no ghost, and her sneaking suspicions that something sinister is lurking behind the walls of her university’s idyllic campus are only just scratching the surface…

The opening installment in a twist-laden trilogy, Stitch spans the genres of paranormal romance and dystopian sci-fi to explore the challenges of a society in transition, where morality, vision, and pragmatism collide leaving the average citizen to suffer the results.

my rating: ♥♥♥♥

Hey! welcome to my first humble blog tour for one of the really surprising books I’ve read last month. I am also grateful for Mrs. Samantha Durante trust in me even though I just started my blog. Thank you & I wish you a happy life.

As I said, talking about Stitch I have to associate it with the word surprising. That’s because it was really surprising. As soon as I read the first chapters, the intrigue kept rising in a way I didn’t wanted to let it go without getting some answers. And I totally didn’t see that plot coming.

I don’t need to break down the plot more to you; because it would spoil the book. Plus, the synopsis do give it justice without my poor writing skills to ruin it xD. However, I shall speak of the plot, which is where the goodness comes from. It really caught me off-guard when the secrets started to uncover. Much like Alessa herself, I felt like I just woken up in the middle of something huge happening. This book is racy, it will keep you in the action till the end. And among the answered questions, there’s still some unanswered ones which builds up the second book (and I can’t wait for that). Ugh! I wanna talk in details but I can’t. Anyways, the plot deserves all the love.

The Characters

I didn’t really connect with the two main character, Alessa and Isaac. But they were okay for me. I believe the plot didn’t give them the chance to act and show who they truly are, since everything they’ve been through was kinda staged. I am wondering how much of their stories is true and how much is fake. Frankly, prior to reading this book, I read a Q&A session with the author and Alessa and it was really funny. Then, I thought some of that spunk was embedded in Alessa’s character in the book. Sadly, it wasn’t and I felt a bit disappointed because I really liked Samantha Durante’s humor.

Style of Writing

I loved it. It flowed really nice. Complimented the fast-paced plot.

The Narration

One problem, the confusing shifts of POV. But that only happened a few times that it feels more like an extra of the book.

Despite some of the problems, this book’s strength lies mostly in its very well-written and gripping plot. Even when this book feels like we’re caught up in a haste, but hopefully (and I’m really hopeful here) the next book Shudder will give us more background along with some answers. Until then, it’s definitely worth your time to read this.

About the Author

Samantha Durante lives in New York City with her fiancé, Sudeep, and her cat, Gio. Formerly an engineer at Microsoft, Samantha left the world of software in 2010 to pursue her entrepreneurial dreams and a lifelong love of writing. A graduate of the University of Pennsylvania’s Jerome Fisher Program in Management & Technology, Samantha is currently working full time for her company Medley Media Associates as a freelance business writer and communications consultant. Stitch is her first novel. Learn more about Samantha at www.samanthadurante.com. Also available on:

Shelfari || Facebook || LibraryThing || GoodReads

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Stitch by Samantha Durante (Review)

  1. Pingback: Review & Interview @ Tea, Daydreams and Fairytales | Samantha Durante

  2. Pingback: Review, Guest Post & 3 Ebook Giveaway @ Every Free Chance Book Reviews | Samantha Durante

Leave a Reply

