Review: Dirty Blood by Heather Hildenbrand

Dirty Blood by Heather Hildenbrand

Book 1 of { Dirty Blood } series

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal Romance: Werewolves, Young Adult

get it from: available for free on Amazon (kindle) || B&N (e-book) || Smashwords

Synopsis

I killed a girl last night. I did it with my bare hands and an old piece of pipe I found lying next to the dumpster. But that’s not the part that got me. The part that scared me, the part I can’t seem to wrap my head around and still has me reeling, was that when she charged me, her body shifted – and then she was a wolf. All snapping teeth and extended claws. But by the time I stood over her lifeless body, she was a girl again. That’s about the time I went into shock… And that was the moment he showed up. And even now there are two thoughts that are so clear, they feel branded into my mind: One, Werewolves do exist, and two, I was born to kill them.

Rating:

I picked this up randomly from Smashwords when I found that it was free plus its description was pretty intriguing, right? my expectation were like “omg, this is going to be a disaaaaster”. Fortunately, it actually was pretty good.

Seventeen years old Tara Godfrey is the perfect student, daughter and best friend. She has everything except her boyfriend George who is now a famous football star. The night she breaks up with him, and on her way home she meets a girl, who turns to be not really a girl but a werewolf. Tara manages to kill this girl after an intense fight. But why did this werewolf attack her? And who this guy, Wes, who made her later forget all about it?

Frankly, that’s all I’m gonna give you because everything beyond that is gonna spoil this book for you. 😀

The Plot

From the first moment I read this book I was interested about everything going on. It certainly has gripping story. Heather also manages to set up the plot for the next book as well as the whole series, which is what I love. The plot development was pretty nice and really intense at some parts. However, most twists you can see happening a mile away, but some will catch you off-guard. The premise of Dirty Blood alone is enough plot to keep you reading.

The Characters

Tara was the other reason beside the story I was interested in. She’s unbelievably strong the way she handled the werewolf at the beginning as well as the heavy mythical world Wes managed to tell her about. She’s was written as an underdog but later Heather managed to give her the development she well-deserves. I didn’t like everyone, including Wes, claiming to protect her by keeping things from her. I never understood this reasoning especially in this case. Tara WILL know sooner or later so just tell her people. Sorry, that was my angry thoughts xD. I loved Tara’s strength and weaknesses at the same time. She puts on a brave act but inside she’s is a human who is vulnerable and long for a comforting touch. She’s awesome!

Wes St. John comes into from the beginning loaded with mysteries and charms (irresistible huh? *wink*). The chemistry is sooooo there. And once they spend some time together, the attraction seems pretty obvious. So, it wasn’t really an insta-love stuff but instead a gradual relationship. I also liked the story about his past & yet mystery behind his personality; there’s more revealed about him that wasn’t explained and I can’t wait to know more about.

Other characters I liked were Jack, who is Tara trainer. He becomes this father-figure for Tara. Their growing fondness for each other was really endearing. There’s also Fee, Jack’s wife, who I believe took Tara under her wing and did what Tara’s mom didn’t do. They shared such an open and honest interaction, which was a nice change from all lies and secrets others hid. Another characters include Tara’s grandmother and Cord, who is another hunter girl but hostile towards Tara. I am really looking forward to reading all about them. Tara’s mom didn’t appeal to me much even at the end tho.

The Writing

Okay! I liked it but I didn’t like how slow the characters were wrote as opposed to them being smart. For someone who just learned about her nature, she’s really forgetting distinct things she could remember easily. But overall, it’s really a good writing. Not too much or too less information. Heather Hildenbrand manages to set up a really nice story and premise in Dirty Blood.

I would pick up the next book right now if I could but I have to wait a couple of weeks. But once I do, I’ll be reading it ASAP. what are you waiting for? go get it.. it’s free 😉

Leave a Reply

