Review: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

  Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Book #1 of { Slammed } series

 Genre: Young Adult: Realistic Fiction

 Themes: Death, Loss and love

 Get it from: Amazon || B&N || also available on NetGalley

  Synopsis

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.
Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.
Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

my rating:

First of all, reading this book, I was reminded a lot of one of my really favorite poems by Elizabeth Bishop called One Art. That poem is the only one I remember after college. Since the theme of this story is loss too, I felt so connected to it as I was to that poem.

I believe the story doesn’t need further “breaking-down” since the summary is interestingly mysterious enough. So I’ll go on with my review.

The Plot

The story takes off from the first chapter, which is usually too quick for me but this one, I couldn’t eat read it faster. It grows only to twists so many times and in an unpredictable way, that you’ll feel in need for air. Secrets unfold and others still kept hidden. Families brought down by loss, only to rise and fight back. I loved how it ended. It’s a really beautiful love story as well. One which as soon as it started, it turned forbidden.

The Charaters

I LOVED the development of all the characters, especially Layken’s. Through her grief, she becomes a better person with the help of Will. Which brings me to talk about Will. Ugh! he was so frustrating sometimes I truly felt for Lake. But he also, like Lake herself, was conflicted so I forgave him. Their story is, just like Easy, a one pulled from a real-land (like fairyland :P). Then there’s Layken’s family, which has recently suffered a loss, is now beginning to prepare for another dear one to be lost. It hurts, it really does. The interactions were also brilliantly written with enough balance between humor and emotions.

The Poems

OMG! the poems in this are what left me in puddle of tears. They are soooooooooo beautifully written and amazing and emotional. Especially 3 tops are Pink Ballon, Schooled and The Lake ♥.

This was such a surprise. All thanks for my two Goodreads friends Novel and Jona for recommending & obsessing about it that I had to read it. It’s original, unique, very unexpected, inspirational with a large dose of life lessons thrown in it. This book is so real that it really brings out your fears, hopes and doubts to put them in question. Just like life is, this book is achingly beautiful and pretty irresistible.

4 thoughts on “Review: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

