Review: Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Book #2 of { Lux } series

 Genre: Young Adult, Fiction, Paranormal Romance

 Get it from: Amazon || B&N || also available on eBooks.com

  Synopsis

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

my rating: 4leaves

I am sure you have most of the population have fell under the spell of this series. I was too. However, this book kinda was a slow build for me compared to the way Obsidian was in the beginning. I went from hyped to frustrated to then grateful that I gave this book a second chance.

The Plot

The story of Onyx takes off right where we left off with the end of the fight and how Katy Swartz is gaining powers because of Daemon Black’s healing her. They have their strong attraction to work through and Daemon is trying his darnest to be a better person, unlike his jerk image in Obsidian. Needless to say, the side-effects of the fight doesn’t escape the Luxen’s DoD (Department of Defense) notice. And they are determined to find who is responsible.

The Characters

Katy Swartz

I still liked the way her character is written. She’s still someone who is independent, strong-willed, and loving at the same time. She is still the book-nerd and a fellow blogger :P. She comes to accept her changing nature pretty quickly and she tries to get better at it too. That was admirable. She also tries to understand this attraction she feels toward the ever hot Daemon Black. Even though, I felt frustrated by her shutting him out but when you think about it from her POV, I did understand why she’d be hesitant to give her heart and open herself to him.

Daemon Black

This guy has come aloooooooooooooooong way from the jerk Daemon we met in Lux. He is trying to win over Katy by trying to be a better person, I really liked that in his development. I liked the dialogues he and Katy shared; it showed that they were both equals. He is also faces his own demons too. Oops, I was almost spoiling you with some plot lines. Go get the book and you’d find out.

Blake Saunders

The new guy in town. He just moved to WV (aren’t they always *eyeroll* ). As soon as he shows up, you’d know he was brought in as Daemon’s rival. He is a love interest for Katy. He shares her love for books and he is a blogger too (I totally understand why she’d like him, I did). We soon learn that he’s more than meets the eye and he in fact is like Katy, even they share some superpowers. I liked how he was written (he reminded me of Hunter Garity from the Elemental series tbh), even when he was a bit reckless and did things that freaked me out as it did Katy. I really want to know more about him in the upcoming books.

The Writing

It was really beautiful and the pace was really comfortable to go through.

I am so glad to give this book a second chance. While I really liked Onyx, I think Obsidian was better for me (for some reason I can’t figure out why). But one thing I know is I really look forward to reading Opal and I think it’s a pretty good series for you to start.

Leave a Reply

