End of Year Book Survey (2012)

end-of-year-book-survey-2012

This is a book survey about books read in 2012 hosted by The Perpetual Page-Turner

can’t believe it’s soon gonna be 2013. But I am also excited for reading those coming out next year. So, here’s a look back on my reading history.

Best in Books 2012

1. best book you read in 2012? (you can break it down by genre if you want)

The best book I have read is hands-down The Alchemist. It was such a journey of my own. But, choosing only one of my 200+ books is not fair. So, I am breaking it into genres:

Adult/Fantasy: Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning, Shadow Bound by Rachel Vincent & Dark Swan series by Richelle Mead

Crime/Thriller: Criminal by Karin Slaughter, The Last Echo by Kimberly Derting, & Social Suicide by Gemma Halliday

YA/Fantasy: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass

YA Contemporary: Easy by Tammara Webber, If I Stay series by Gayle Forman, Send by Patty Blout & Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Dystopia: Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver, The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness & Shadow and Bone by Leigh Burugo & Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Fairy-tale re-telling: Cinder by Marrissa Meyer

Paranormal: Everneath by Brodi Ashton, Stitch by Samantha Durante, Storm by Brigid Kemmerer & Shadeland by D. L. Miles

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

There are two books that come to my mind. 1) Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. I thought it was worth the hype but I didn’t enjoy it very much. 2) Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry. After Reading Easy I was on a contemporary streak. This was hyped right after Easy. However, it was not as awesome as Easy was for me.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2012?

That would be Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass. I am still in love with it. There’s also Stitch by Samantha Durante, and Shadeland by D. L. Miles These books took me by complete and utter surprise.

4. Book you recommended to people most in 2012?

I recommended Shadeland by D.L. Miles to a lot of my friends on GoodReads. It deserves so much love to be honest. I’d also recommend Slammed by Colleen Hoover (along with some tissue boxes). Slammed will make you cry your eyes out.

5. Best series you discovered in 2012?

A LOT. Warriors of Ankh by Samantha Young, If I Stay by Gayle Forman, Unbound by Rachel Vincent, Brightest Kind of Darkness by P. T. Michelle & Everneath by Brodi Ashton.

6. Favorite new authors you discovered in 2012?

That would be P. T. Michelle. After reading Brightest Kind of Darkness I know I fell in love with P. T. Michelle too. She’s awesome!

Others are: Samantha Durante, Sarah J. Mass, D. L. Miles, Brigid Kemmerer, Brodi Ashton and Gayle Forman

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

It was The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. It was out of my comfort zone ‘coz it was written with the new world language. I have low-tolerance for those especially when they are not done well. But, I ended up really liking it and hoping to complete the series next year.

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2012?

hands-down Shadeland by D. L. Miles. It was thrilling and very unputdownable. There’s also Angelfall by Susan Ee, Throne of Glass (I read it twice in one day :D).

9. Book You Read In 2012 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year

I already plan to re-read Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass, Everneath by Brodi Ashton, Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi and Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver.

I’d like to give Daughter of Smoke and Bone a second chance next year and maybe I’ll like it, who knows….

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2012?

I can’t get over how gorgeous this new cover themes are. So arty and fantastic and *gah* gorgeous ❤

11. Most memorable character in 2012?

Penryn (Angelfall by Susan Ee) of course, mainly because of the still present hype but also because she’s the first female MC I believed to be strong. For some time I started measure every female character to her. Penryn was really an influential character and very memorable.

Lisbeth Salander (Millenuim series by Stieg Larrson), ‘coz she’s kick-ass awesome ❤ and that’s enough..

Daniel (My Name is Memory by Ann Brashares) .. even when I read this book back in June, I still remember Daniel and how he suffered for his love yet, Ann Brashares didn’t make him a weak character, he’s still a man .. he’s perfect.

Celaena Sardothian (Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass) I love her for being true to herself and gets whatever she wants and still carry that humanity within her. And she kicks-ass while having a conversation <333

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2012?

Easy by Tammara Webber & Brightest Kind of Darkness by P. T. Michelle .. they are so beautiful each on it own.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2012?

Speaking of emotional impact, Shadow Bound was such an emotional book with A-mazing characters who are literally perfect for each other. And a book that impacted me personally, The Alchemist is the best I’ve read that affected me so much in terms of my unaccomplished goals and dreams.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2012 to finally read?

Again, that would have to go to The Alchemist. I’ve seen it on and off the shelves of so many readers on GR. and some friends have been talking to me about how awesome it is for so long. Oh boy! I am so glad I did.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2012?

SO MANY to remember, most memorable:

“Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.” ~ Throne of Glass

“Celaena,” Chaol said gently. And then she heard the scraping noise as his hand came into view, sliding across the flagstones. His fingertips stopped just at the edge of the white line. “Celaena,” he breathed, his voice laced with pain–and hope. This was all she had left–his outstretched hand, and the promise of hope, of something better waiting on the other side of the line.” ~ Throne of Glass

“You remember what you lost, and you forget what’s right in front of you?” ~ My Name Is Memory

“Sage?” he said, “What are you wearing?” I sighed and stared down at the dress. “I know. It’s red. Don’t start. I’m tired of hearing about it.” “Funny.” he said “I don’t think I could ever get tired of looking at it” ~ The Golden Lily

“You need me? You yell. You want to leave? We go. I’ll get you out of here, no matter what.” ~ The Golden Lily

“We haven’t met… I’m Kori Daniels. If you don’t get that gun out of my face, I’m gonna take it, then I’m gonna break your jaw so I can unhinge it and shove your pistol down your throat. That way the bullet goes through the long way.” ~ Shadow Bound

We are told from childhood onward that everything we want to do is impossible. We grow up with this idea, and as the years accumulate, so too do the layers of prejudice, fear, and guilt. There comes a time when our personal calling is so deeply buried in our soul as to be invisible. But it’s still there.” ~ The Alchemist

“It’s the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting.” ~ The Alchemist

16. Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2012?

Longest book is The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson. 820 pages

Shortest book is Zane’s Way by Maggie Casper. 144 pages

17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

awwwwwwwww that was the final scene of The Golden Lily

hothothothot

18. Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2012 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).

SO MANY. But I loved the relationship between Kori and Ian from Shadow Bound.  The two of them were so much there for each other. And there was the underlying angst of Kori’s life that could have made her bitter and too negative. But she was real, or at least the closer to real suffering I’ve read. And Ian was there to be as strong of a partner. Marvelous couple ❤

There’s also Mia and Adam in If I Stay series. They are such amazing couple. They made me cry.

19. Favorite Book You Read in 2012 From An Author You Read Previously

Iron Crowned by Richelle Mead. I loved the series & the characters as much as I loved VA or Bloodlines. Richelle Mead rocks.

20. Best Book You Read That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:

I was recommended a lot of books I need to get reading lol! I was recommended Demon at Deadnight (by my bestie Asmaa on GR). She was raving about it so I had to try it and I did. Didn’t enjoy it as much as she did but it was good in its own way. I also read Playing for Keeps (recommended by Moviefreak89 on GR) it was such a cute and lovely little book.

that was me reading life in 2012, what was yours?

One thought on “End of Year Book Survey (2012)

  1. Pingback: BKoD & LUCID appear in several “Best of 2012″ lists! | P.T. Michelle

Leave a Reply

