Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

selection   The Selection by Kiera Cass

Book #1 of ( The Selection Trilogy )

Genre: Fiction, Sci-Fi: Dystopia, Romance

Synopsis:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

GoodReads

Ratings: 4leaves

This has been sitting on my not-sure shelf since it was published. I kept hearing those reviews describing it as cheesy and undeserving of the hype … etc etc. While others were raving about it. I never know what the Bachelor is all about actually; I am not a fan of reality tv. But, I am a big fan of this book however.

The Plot

I was mostly skeptical about the plot. What’s it gonna be like? how is this chick-lit take on dystopia would be like.. I feared it’s gonna ruin my fav. genre but as soon as a I grabbed the book I couldn’t let it go. It was so UNPUTDOWNABLE! the story just keeps you interested and involved all  through the twists and turns. The story development was one of the things I loved most about the book to be honest. It wasn’t what I expected at all.

Characters

America Singer

She’s a really good girl. I liked her & loved how she was holding herself among all the girls. I expected her to fall head-over-heals for Maxon the moment she meets him, so I was prepared for a disappointment (I’m such a pessimist :D). I am soooooooooooooo glad she didn’t and their relationship started really cute and funny at times. I was having a good time reading it from her perspective.

Aspen Leger

OK! this guy reminds me of Captain Chaol from Throne of Glass. He’s got the sweetness to him, eventhough I didn’t like him yelling at Mer and pushing her away. But I was sooooooooooooo happy to see him back by the end of the book, in a uniform nonetheless 😉 I loved him, that’s why I didn’t actually felt like rooting for Maxon and Mer.

Prince Maxon

oooooooooh I only liked him because he’s a prince :p.. okay! that was a lie.. He is someone who is compassionate, kind-hearted, funny and charming. He cares about his country (even though I don’t understand how he could not know how his people are living in poor conditions?) and America did bring out the best in him and pushed him to act like a prince who is gonna be a king one day.

Marlee

I know she’s not that significant but I hope she becomes so in Book #2 because I didn’t get enough about her that much in this. I think she can be Maxon’s queen.

What I didn’t like that much:

– There wasn’t enough scenes with Maxon’s parents. His mom sounded intriguing.

– As I said before, the state of the kingdom wasn’t convincing. Those riots were happening for so long and they didn’t do anything? it honestly felt like a convenience for the couple and not a thought-out subplot.

-GIVE ME MORE ASPEN ❤ … sorry that was my insane fangirl-y side..

So this is a Bachelor-meets-Hunger-Games as I’ve heard so many times, but this one is a big on the chick-lit side. It’s got a wonderful story development, the sweetest couples (with amazing chemistry), and very likable characters too. It’s all the pluses I look for in a good romance. So, I am very glad I gave it a shot. YAY!

2 thoughts on “Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

