Review: The Way to Never by O.E. Boroni

Title: The Way to Never:

Series: The Never Trilogy, Book 2.

Author: O.E. Boroni

Released: July 25th, 2015

Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Adult.

Goodreads Synopsis:

When falling out of love, refuses to become an option…

Nathan Roque first met Lenora Baker, a beautiful, exasperating, and bitter girl when she was just fifteen years old. He fell so deeply in love with her that he suspected that in his lifetime, nothing else could ever mirror the kind of commitment that she drew out of him. But she is left heartbroken when an unfortunate incident drives them apart.

Thirteen years later, he sets out to reach out to her when he can no longer resist the consuming thoughts of her that have haunted him for so long. However, the same demons that caused him to let go of her in the first place are still holding him back. But when he is thrust into a situation where he has no choice but to become professionally involved with her, a Pandora’s Box of angst, resentment, and passion is unleashed.

Now they are forced to make the decision on how to proceed. But will it justify the one that they made in the past, or will it mock it?

Review:

I received a copy from the author, in exchange for an honest review.

And before I begin my review I’d like to sincerely apologize for O.E. Boroni for this long time I took reading this and not posting anything.. I am completely sorry! reading slumps are nasty 😦

so here’s my review…

The first book ended with such an intense cliffhanger. But before that, the first book revolved around the teen Nora and Nathan and how their young romance ended. As I said, it was pretty dramatic end but really intriguing..

Now, after 10 years, the two are reunited again and their love hasn’t faded all those years. Both of them try to fight it and play it off cool and ok! with the other being there but the feelings are shimmering under the surface waiting for that one moment.. of course, you know by the time the hero decides to come back all the misfortunes start to happen, especially when said love-interest has a boyfriend. One who is serious by the way and … she is not! See where I am going with this?

This whole cliché story was frustrating because you already know what is going to happen. The struggles the two main characters faced were not nothing out of the usual “I left you because you’re better off without me” kind of situations.

In book 1, I totally understood why each of them did what they did. They were flawed and with a lot of baggage. However, now.. I feel like this book showed Nathan getting his head out of his behind (YAY! about time man) and tries to amend his wrong doings. Nora’s character still remained flawed for me. What she did to Damian was partly her fault for trying to settle for something she’s not happy with. I am looking forward to her getting over this weakness. I hope!

Plot-wise, I still like the first book better because under that much of drama there was a flawed innocence of their story and I still love it. Plus, there were less hospitals so I didn’t cringe every time the word surgery was mentioned (I’m sorry, I don’t like hospitals >.<).

The new character, Damian, who is Nora’s fiancée didn’t have that good of a first impression with me. Just like that! maybe because I’d rather this was done without a third party. Yep! that’s probably it! Plus, why is he allowing his mom to decide his life? especially when it comes to Nora? I hate those kinds of women 😦

The end, ……. O.M.G! it is another cliffhanger and this woman seriously excels at them. For the most part I was “I am not going to read the next one.” but then that end happened and I was like .. “wh… what? WHAT DID THEY SEE? I WANT THE NEXT BOOK..” *sigh*

Seriously, this series is good.. check it out and you’ll be rooting for Nora and Nathan all the way..

Final rating: 4leaves

Leave a Reply

