Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

22294935This is a review of:

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Book 1 of Six of Crows series

Release Date: July 28th 2015

Rating: ★★★★★

Available on: Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iTunes

Goodreads Synopsis:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Fans of Grisha Trilogy series will devour this, I did ❤

Wow! I am in awe of Leigh Bardugo. This woman is officially one of my top 5 writers of YA Fantasy.

Six of Crows is another amazing read. once I started it, I could not and would not put it down. I think I’m in awe more of the characters and the dynamic between these six that grows on you. Especially with 2 couples who have complicated history. I loved it!

This time, the story takes place in Ketterdam where it’s the city of trade in the the country of Kerch. Kaz Brekker, the infamous trickster and thief is offered his biggest opportuniy in wealth to do a dangerous heist. Despite the danger, he can’t refuse and he goes to assemble his team, one required to be busted out of jail.

The Plot | Who doesn’t like or enjoy a hiest? Espeically one as grand as what Kaz is taking on. I was glued to the book all the way through, I actully groan when I have to get up and go for a bathroom break :D. Anyways, the plot is as aweomse as can be expected from Queen Leigh Bardugo.

The Characters | This book’s strength was mostly in how well-rounded ALL the characters were. No one is left from being given the attention they deserve. The most intriguing one was definitely Kaz. Although, bits and pieces were revealed about him, he remains an enigma all through the book. Other than that, Nina, Matthias, Jesper, Inej were all such as equally strong and capable.

The Romance | Romance was a big part of this book as well. but I’ll mention what I thought about each pair.

Kaz & Inej | From the first moment, I knew these two had something special. She’s a wraith and he is a deeply troubled soul. That didn’t stop them from caring for each other from a far. They were even attund to each other’s breaths.

“I will have you without armor, Kaz Brekker. Or I will not have you at all.” 

The end was such a gut-wrenching one for this couple. And because of it, I NEED THE SECOND BOOK.

Matthias & Nina | These two have hot, fiery & sizzling chemistry. You are not going to not ship these two. Matthias is a witchhunter and Nina is a witch, Grisha to be precise. He thinks that she is something that should not exist as it is the source of evil. As all Fjerdans think of the Grisha; that’s why they’re killing them. Also, due to a past betrayal on Nina’s part, Matthias is determined to kill her.

“I have been made to protect you. Only in death will I be kept from this oath.” 

That plan of his becomes on hold as they both reunite for Kaz’s mission. And what more than dangerous missions to bring show how much each one cares for the other, truly.

Jesper | Jesper is also a well-rounded character, however, I did not care that much about him. He’s really fun and talent. Also cares for his mates so deeply. Yet, he made the least impact, I don’t know why. Maybe because his chapters were less intense than the others.

Fun Quiz | I was on Grisha website when I stumbled upon this cute character quiz. I took it and I ended up being a KAZ. Take it here and let’s see which Six of Crows character you are ^_^

kaz_result

~~.~.~~

end

Leave a Reply

