Review: The Tethering by Megan O’Russell

Review_The_Tethering_Megan_O'RussellThe Tethering

by Megan O’Russell

Series: The Tethering #1

Release Date: October 17th 2014

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Available on: Amazon | B&N | iBooks

book summary

All sixteen-year-old Jacob Evans wants is to win the heart of Emilia Gray, but with order in the magical world crumbling, war threatening, and Emilia’s boyfriend living across the hall, he may never have the chance.

Jacob Evans loses everything he has ever known and is tossed into a world of magic. The Dragons, a group of rebel wizards, are threatening to expose the existence of magic to humans. Jacob is determined to find a way to fit into Emilia’s family, but as his powers grow, so does the danger. With the death toll mounting, Jacob is accused of acts of rebel terrorism and must fight to stay in a world he’s only just beginning to discover.

When Emilia’s life is threatened, Jacob must risk everything to save her. Does he have the power to rescue her in time? And what could their survival cost?

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

my thoughts

Thanks for the author, Megan O’Russell, for providing me a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

So the summary isn’t any different from the other fantasy books in the same genre. I started it expecting nothing to be honest. Yet the more I read I started to realize that I quite liked this guy, Jacob Evans. I even felt like I have this soft spot for him. He went through so much I just wanted to hug him.

I was more involved in his story than I first thought. To the point that I just didn’t care for the other characters, namely, Emilia. Frankly, I could do without her presence. I think Jacob is an awesome guy without her.

My problem with her was that she was character-less. She’s one of those Mary Sues of literature. Those aren’t going to bring out Jacob’s true colors. Fine he cares for her because she’s a childhood friend/crush. However, I just kept imagining how different and more exciting the story would be if Emilia was equally troubled girl. *sigh* the possibilities!

Not that The Tethering isn’t good, is it. Yet it fell into the problem of having an interesting MC downplayed by the focus on romance. I wanted a character that challenges him, maybe even an enemy who is also his romantic interest. That would be brilliant.

Anyways, that’s not my story. My point is, this book needed more ‘power’, as well as more diverse personalities. Complicated ones in particular.

rating1

3.5/5

~~.~.~~

end

Leave a Reply

